Smart Glasses - With Augmented Reality to Industry 4.0

Smart Glasses are wearable devices that augment reality and enable hands-free work. This opens up new opportunities for all companies to make their own processes more efficient and become fit for the requirements of digital transformation.

However, the young market is still confusing. Different specifications and complex technology make it difficult for interested parties to find the perfect smart glasses for your use case.

We explain how smart glasses work, in which areas the data glasses offer which advantages and which augmented reality glasses you should buy.

Smart Maintenance is one of the top AR application areas in the industry

How do smart glasses work?

Smart glasses are glasses with a display that shows information. This information is projected into the real environment. This is why we also speak of augmented reality, or AR glasses. In order for data glasses to represent an altered reality, smart glasses have sensors that translate the environment into data that machines can understand.

Smart glasses are basically nothing more than small tablets that you can wear on your eyes. They have hardware, and either Windows or Android is often used as the operating system. Smart Glasses are controlled by voice or gesture. The hands therefore remain free.

What is Augmented Reality?

Augmented Reality is not a new concept – on the contrary. The first wearable augmented reality solution was developed as early as 1968. However, the term itself was first used in 1990. It wasn’t until the early 2000s that augmented reality really took off as a technology. Meanwhile, major technology companies such as Google, Microsoft and Samsung offer their own wearable AR glasses and other AR solutions.

How does augmented reality work?

Augmented reality adds additional information to the visible reality. AR is thus fundamentally based on two components:

Cameras and other sensors must capture reality and make it understandable for a computer. The AR application needs to know the number, shape and positioning of objects in space to represent reality.
Then, to insert additional information and objects into this reality, AR applications use an algorithm. An algorithm is a logic according to which certain data is handled. The better the algorithm, the more accurately an AR device can map augmented reality.

Devices for AR applications

AR glasses are not the only device that can be used to display augmented reality. With the appropriate Augmented Reality Software even a smartphone or tablet becomes an AR device.

One of the best-known AR applications that have helped the concept gain popularity is the mobile game “Pokemon Go.”

But AR applications have also long been used in industry with classic end devices. In warehouse logistics, for example, navigation can be simplified and optimized. The tablet scans the storage room and knows the next orders. The warehouse worker then receives a visualization of where the next goods are located. An AR headset is also frequently used in logistics.

Selected AR glasses can also be used in Ex zones

The best smart glasses 2021

Want to buy augmented reality glasses but overwhelmed by different names, models and specifications? Below, we explain which data glasses are best suited for your use case.

In our store you will find the best data glasses on the market.

Head Mounted Display - binocular or monocular smart glasses?

A basic distinction is made between hardware and software requirements when it comes to data glasses.

On the hardware side, a distinction is made between monocular and binocular data glasses. Monocular data glasses have a display in front of one eye, which displays 2D images. Head Mounted Display displays 2D images.

With binocular data glasses, on the other hand, there is a display in front of both eyes and 3D models are shown. That’s also why binocular data glasses are so popular in the industry in the areas of Digital Engineering and smart building.

The latest models on monocular basis offer the following highlights: Cameras with up to 16 mega pixels, integrated autofocus for razor-sharp images, voice commands so that the hands are free while working, battery runtimes with up to 5 hours.

Of course, you can buy the best smart glasses at ALEGER. We will also be happy to advise you on the selection and areas of application.

Get a callback now:

The best monocular smart glasses

Realwear HMT-1: Powerful & fully rugged

A highlight of the HMT-1 is the advanced speech recognition, which uses four digital microphones to recognize voice commands despite loud ambient noise and interprets them with one of the most advanced speech recognition AI. This makes the data glasses suitable for applications where precise instructions and exact work are important – for example, in the maintenance of machines.

The Realwear is also Atex certification available. The data goggles are thus one of the few “hands free” AR devices approved for use in potentially explosive atmospheres.

Lightweight and robust smart glasses with very good camera for outdoor use: Vuzix M4000

The Vuzix M4000 is a pair of AR glasses specially designed for use in production, warehouse logistics and field service to meet the requirements of Industry 4.0. With this, Vuzix competes with Google and its Smart Glasses. Similar to Google’s data glasses, the Vuzix M4000 has an excellent camera that takes videos in 4K resolution and photos at 12.8 MP. In addition, the Vuzix 4000 is one of the rugged smart glasses that is secured against drops from a height of 2 meters and has an IP67 certification, so the data glasses also pass the endurance test in outdoor areas in bad weather. Weighing only 190 grams, these smart glasses are very light and thus comfortable to wear.

The best binocular augmented reality glasses

Your second display for on the go as Android data glasses: Moverio BT-40

The binocular Moverio BT-40 data glasses create a virtual workplace for more efficient work on the go. This either enlarges the screen of your laptop, smartphone or tablet, or creates a second screen. This offers your data security from prying eyes and allows you to work comfortably. A modern OLED display allows fatigue-free work even for longer periods of time.

Most advanced spatial representation for training, modeling and simulation with Microsoft HoloLens 2.

The HoloLens 2 from Microsoft is Microsoft’s attempt to enter the augmented reality market. And with great success. HoloLens in its second iteration provides users with binocular smart glasses, with one of the best spatial representations on the market, detecting two objects or surfaces simultaneously. This makes it particularly useful for modeling 3D objects and for training and simulation. The HoloLens 2 is controlled with gestures or a virtual keyboard.

Some of the glasses presented here are also known as mixed reality glasses. Learn more here:

Professional maintenance with augmented reality

Data glasses: The fields of application

Head-mounted displays got their start not in the professional, but in the consumer sector. In gaming and media, large companies have been experimenting with VR and AR glasses for a long time.

In the industry the Use in remote maintenance is a popular field of application. Finally, the biggest problem in remote maintenance was that the service employee always has to work with a third party perspective. With smartglasses, on the other hand, the service technician literally sees through the eyes of the employee on site. The use of smart glasses also offers advantages in logistics. For example, shipping giant DHL is using smart glasses to speed up the removal of goods. Data glasses are also increasingly used today to train employees in the use of equipment and procedures. Boeing, for example, accelerated the production of cables by equipping employees with smart glasses through which all work instructions can be visualized and accessed hands-free.

Learn more about AR application areas in industry here.

How ALEGER's Customers Use Smart Glasses for Industry 4.0

The data glasses for remote support

Video streaming enables companies to offer support and training in a cost-optimized way. The solution consists of a streaming service as well as hardware with installed Remote software . The online platform allows access to the camera’s encrypted video stream regardless of location. Thus, the service employee or expert takes the perspective on site and can directly instruct the employees on site. The solution can also be used for documentation, employee management or training purposes.
On the hardware side, tablets and smartphones as well as data glasses can be used. You are welcome to purchase these from ALEGER or integrate existing terminals.
Further interesting functions are available like: Autofocus, voice control, integrated chats with translation, image/video recording, barcode scanner, the import of information (e.g.:data sheets, videos), live image editing, multi-conferencing, etc.

The data glasses as an assistance system

The data glasses integrate seamlessly with your digital knowledge base. Easily make expert knowledge available anywhere, anytime.
Use the data goggles to document work steps directly at the scene of the event. Make important information, which is accessed via QR codes on the data glasses or smartphone, available digitally.
Create trainings, work instructions and much more. Make them available to various groups, such as employees, partners, customers, etc., at any time.

The data glasses in logistics

Take advantage of the benefits of data glasses in logistics. Massive efficiency gains can be gained, especially in picking, and in confirmation. DHL, for example, has recorded 25% faster goods removal and Coca Cola 99.99% accuracy since the introduction of smart glasses.

Work instructions can be displayed directly in Digital Engineering

Smart Glasses - an important building block for the digital transformation of your company

Smart glasses network people, the environment and machines, thereby enabling more efficient work processes. With increasing networking of all devices in the Internet of things, the possible applications for data glasses are therefore also becoming more extensive. For many companies and Smart Factories it is already worthwhile to use AR glasses to improve processes in production, logistics, training and customer experience. At ALEGER, we offer a wide range of data glasses from all relevant manufacturers and will be happy to advise you on the best solutions for your individual use case.

Click here to see our top smart glasses.

Smart Glasses & INDUSTRY 4.0

Get into the topic of Industry 4.0 with Smart Glasses!

24/7 ONLINE AVAILABILITY

No matter where and when. Give or receive online support anytime, anywhere.

INTEGRATED CHAT TRANSLATION

Provide service and support in any language through the integrated translation chat, which is shown directly in the display of the glasses.

INTEGRATION WITH AR TOOLS

Benefit from the integration possibilities with other AR tools, such as the digital knowledge base or the augmented reality data management solution.

RECORD SESSIONS

Record support missions for a wide variety of purposes. Whether it is to document processes, create training materials, or document maintenance and other support services.

DOCUMENT MANAGEMENT

Make sure nothing gets lost or forgotten. With the help of intelligent document management, you can accurately track service tickets and documents.

LIVE - IMAGE EDITING

Mark and edit the image live and directly in the video stream to give precise instructions.

Select the fields to be shown. Others will be hidden. Drag and drop to rearrange the order.
  • Image
  • SKU
  • Rating
  • Stock
  • Availability
  • Description
  • Content
  • Weight
  • Dimensions
  • Attributes
  • Custom attributes
  • Custom fields
Click outside to hide the compare bar
Compare

Wir rufen Sie umgehend zurück

Individuelles Angebot anfordern

We will call you back immediately

Request individual offer

Smart Glasses - Mit Augmented Reality zur Industrie 4.0

Smart Glasses sind tragbare Geräte, die die Realität erweitern und freihändiges Arbeiten ermöglichen. Das eröffnet für alle Unternehmen neue Möglichkeiten, die eigenen Prozesse effizienter zu gestalten und fit für die Anforderungen der digitalen Transformation zu werden.

Der junge Markt ist aber noch unübersichtlich. Verschiedene Spezifikationen und eine komplexe Technologie machen es Interessierten schwer, die perfekten Smart Glasses für Ihren Use Case zu finden.

Wir erklären, wie Smart Glasses funktionieren, in welchen Bereichen die Datenbrillen welche Vorteile bieten und welche Augmented Reality Brille Sie kaufen sollten.

Wie funktionieren Smart Glasses?

Smart Glasses sind Brillen mit Display, welches Informationen anzeigt. Diese Informationen werden in die reale Umgebung projiziert. Daher spricht man auch von Augmented Reality, bzw. AR Brillen. Damit die Datenbrille eine veränderte Realität darstellen kann, verfügen Smart Glasses über Sensoren, die die Umgebung in für Maschinen verständliche Daten übersetzen.

Smart Glasses sind im Prinzip nichts anderes als kleine Tablets, die man auf den Augen tragen kann. Sie verfügen über Hardware und als Betriebssystem kommt häufig entweder Windows oder Android zum Einsatz. Gesteuert werden Smart Glasses per Sprache oder per Gestensteuerung. Die Hände bleiben also frei.

Was ist Augmented Reality?

Augmented Reality ist kein neues Konzept – im Gegenteil. Die erste tragbare Augmented-Reality-Lösung wurde bereits 1968 entwickelt. Der Begriff selbst wurde allerdings erst 1990 das erste Mal genutzt. Erst zu Beginn der 2000er Jahre nimmt Augmented Reality als Technologie wirklich Fahrt auf. Mittlerweile bieten große Technologiekonzerne wie Google, Microsoft und Samsung eigene tragbare AR-Brillen und andere AR-Lösungen an.

Wie funktioniert Augmented Reality?

Augmented Reality ergänzt die sichtbare Realität um zusätzliche Informationen. Damit basiert AR grundsätzlich auf zwei Komponenten:

Kameras und andere Sensoren müssen die Realität erfassen und für einen Computer verständlich machen. Die AR Anwendung muss Anzahl, Form und Positionierung der Objekte im Raum kennen, um die Realität abzubilden.
Um dann zusätzliche Informationen und Objekte in diese Realität einzufügen, nutzen AR Anwendungen einen Algorithmus. Ein Algorithmus ist eine Logik, nach der mit bestimmten Daten umgegangen wird. Je besser der Algorithmus, desto genauer kann ein AR-Gerät die Augmented Reality abbilden.

Geräte für AR Anwendungen

Eine AR Brille ist nicht das einzige Gerät, mit denen eine Augmented Reality dargestellt werden kann. Mit der entsprechenden Augmented Reality Software wird auch ein Smartphone oder Tablet zum AR Gerät.

Einer der bekanntesten AR-Anwendungen, die dem Konzept zu großer Popularität verholfen haben, ist das Mobile-Spiel “Pokemon Go”.

Aber auch in der Industrie werden AR Anwendungen längst mit den klassischen Endgeräten genutzt. In der Lagerlogistik kann so zum Beispiel die Navigation vereinfacht und optimiert werden. Das Tablet scannt den Lagerraum und kennt die nächsten Aufträge. Der Lagerarbeiter erhält dann visualisiert, wo die nächste Ware liegt. Auch ein AR Headset wird häufig in der Logistik verwendet.

Die besten Smart Glasses 2021

Sie wollen eine Augmented Reality Brille kaufen, aber sind überfordert von verschiedenen Bezeichnungen, Modellen und Spezifikationen? Im Folgenden erklären wir, welche Datenbrille für Ihren Use Case am besten geeignet ist.

Head Mounted Display - binokulare oder monokulare Smart Glasses?

Grundsätzlich wird beim Thema Datenbrille in Hard- und Softwareanforderungen unterschieden.

Hardwareseitig wird zwischen einer monokularen oder einer binokularen Datenbrille unterschieden. Bei der monokularen Datenbrille befindet sich ein Display vor einem Auge, diese Datenbrille stellt 2D Bilder dar.

Bei der binokularen Datenbrille befindet sich hingegen ein Display vor beiden Augen und 3D Modelle werden dargestellt. Das ist auch der Grund, warum binokulare Datenbrillen in der Industrie so beliebt in den Bereichen Digital Engineering und Smart Building sind.

Die neuesten Modelle auf monokularer Basis bieten folgende Highlights: Kameras mit bis zu 16 Mega Pixel, integriertem Autofokus für gestochen scharfe Bilder, Sprachbefehle (Voice Commands) damit die Hände beim Arbeiten frei sind, Batterielaufzeiten mit bis zu 5 Stunden.

Natürlich können Sie bei ALEGER die besten Smart Glasses kaufen. Gerne beraten wir Sie auch bei der Auswahl und den Einsatzbereichen.

Jetzt zurückrufen lassen:

Die besten monokularen Smart Glasses

Realwear HMT-1: Leistungsstark & fully rugged

Ein Highlight der HMT-1 ist die moderne Spracherkennung, die mit vier digitalen Mikrofonen Sprachbefehle trotz lauter Umgebungsgeräusche erkennt und mit einer der fortschrittlichsten Spracherkennungs-KI interpretiert. Dadurch ist die Datenbrille für Anwendungen geeignet, bei denen es auf genaue Anweisungen und exaktes Arbeiten ankommt – zum Beispiel in der Wartung von Maschinen.Die Realwear ist auch mit Atex Zertifizierung erhältlich. Die Datenbrille ist somit einer der wenigen “hands free” AR Geräte, die für den Einsatz in explosionsgefährdeten Bereichen zugelassen sind.

Leichte und robuste Smart Glasses mit sehr guter Kamera für den Außeneinsatz: Vuzix 4000

Die Vuzix 4000 ist eine AR Brille, die speziell für den Einsatz in Produktion, Lagerlogistik und Außendienst designt wurde, um den Anforderungen der Industrie 4.0 gerecht zu werden. Damit macht Vuzix Google und seinen Smart Glasses Konkurrenz. Ähnlich wie die Google Datenbrille verfügt die Vuzix 4000 über eine hervorragende Kamera, die Videos in 4K-Auflösung und Fotos mit 12,8 MP anfertigt. Zudem ist die Vuzix 4000 eine robuste Datenbrille, die gegen Stürze aus einer Höhe von 2 Metern gesichert ist und über eine IP67-Zertifizierung verfügt, sodass die Datenbrille auch den Härtetest in Außenbereichen bei schlechtem Wetter besteht. Mit einem Gewicht von nur 190 Gramm ist die Datenbrille sehr leicht und damit komfortabel zu tragen.

Die besten binokularen Augmented Reality Brillen

Ihr zweites Display für Unterwegs als Android Datenbrille: Moverio BT-40

Die binokulare Moverio BT-40 Datenbrille erzeugt einen virtuellen Arbeitsplatz für die effizientere Arbeit unterwegs. Dabei wird entweder der Bildschirm Ihres Laptops, Smartphones oder Tablets vergrößert oder ein zweiter Bildschirm erzeugt. Dieser bietet Ihren Daten Sicherheit vor neugierigen Blicken und erlaubt Ihnen komfortables Arbeiten. Ein modernes OLED-Display erlaubt dabei ermüdungsfreies Arbeiten auch für längere Zeiträume.

Fortschrittlichste Raumdarstellung für Ausbildung, Modellierung und Simulation mit der Microsoft HoloLens 2

Die HoloLens 2 von Microsoft ist Microsofts Versuch, in den Augmented Reality Markt einzusteigen. Und das mit großem Erfolg. Die HoloLens in der zweiten Iteration bietet Nutzern eine binokulare Smartbrille, mit einer der besten räumlichen Darstellungen auf dem Markt, mit dem zwei Objekte oder Oberflächen gleichzeitig erkannt werden. Dadurch ist sie besonders in der Modellierung von 3D-Objekten und für Ausbildungen und Simulationen bedient. Gesteuert wird die HoloLens 2 mit Gesten oder einer virtuellen Tastatur.

Datenbrillen: Die Einsatzbereiche

Ihren Anfang nahmen Head Mounted Displays nicht im professionellen, sondern im Consumer-Bereich. Im Gaming und im Medienbereich experimentieren große Unternehmen schon lange mit VR und AR Brillen.

In der Industrie ist der Einsatz in der Fernwartung ein beliebtes Einsatzgebiet. Das größte Problem in der Fernwartung war schließlich, dass der Servicemitarbeiter stets mit der Perspektive eines Dritten arbeiten muss. Mit Smartglasses sieht der Servicetechniker dagegen im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes durch die Augen des Mitarbeiters vor Ort. Auch in der Logistik bietet der Einsatz von Smart Glasses Vorteile. So nutzt der Versandriese DHL Smart Glasses, um die Warenentnahme zu beschleunigen. Datenbrillen werden heute zudem immer häufiger eingesetzt, um Mitarbeiter im Umgang mit Geräten und Verfahren zu schulen. So beschleunigte Boeing die Produktion von Kabeln, indem Sie die Mitarbeiter mit Smart Glasses ausstatteten, über die alle Arbeitsanweisungen visualisiert und freihändig abgerufen werden können.

Hier erfahren Sie mehr über die AR Anwendungsbereiche in der Industrie. 

Wie ALEGERs Kunden Smart Glasses für die Industrie 4.0 einsetzen:

Die Datenbrille für Remote Support

Videostreaming ermöglicht es Unternehmen Support- und Training kostenoptimiert anzubieten. Die Lösung besteht aus einem Streamingdienst sowie Hardware mit installierter Remote Software. Durch die Onlineplattform lässt sich ortsunabhängig auf den verschlüsselten Videostream der Kamera zugreifen. Somit nimmt der Servicemitarbeiter oder Experte die Perspektive vor Ort ein und kann die Mitarbeiter vor Ort direkt anleiten. Auch kann die Lösung zur Dokumentation, Mitarbeiterführung oder Trainingszwecken eingesetzt werden.
Hardwareseitig können sowohl Tablets und Smartphones als auch Datenbrillen zum Einsatz kommen. Gern können Sie diese über ALEGER beziehen oder bestehende Endgeräte integrieren.
Weiter stehen interessante Funktionen zur Verfügung wie: Autofokus, Sprachsteuerung, integrierte Chats mit Übersetzung, Bild/ Videoaufnahme, Barcodescanner, das Einspielen von Informationen (z.B.:Datenblätter, Videos), Live Bildbearbeitung, Multikonferenzen etc.

Die Datenbrille als Assistenzsystem

Die Datenbrille integriert sich nahtlos mit Ihrer digitalen Wissensdatenbank. Machen Sie so problemlos Expertenwissen überall und jederzeit verfügbar.
Dokumentieren Sie mit der Datenbrille direkt am Ort des Geschehens Arbeitsschritte. Stellen Sie wichtige Informationen, welche über QR Codes auf der Datenbrille oder Smart Phone abgerufen werden, digital zur Verfügung.
Erstellen Sie Trainings, Arbeitsanleitungen und vieles mehr. Stellen Sie diese verschiedensten Gruppen, wie Mitarbeitern, Partnern, Kunden, etc. jederzeit zum Abruf zur Verfügung.

Die Datenbrille in der Logistik

Nutzen Sie die Vorteile der Datenbrille in der Logistik. Besonders in der Kommissionierung, und in der Quittierung lassen sich massive Effizienzsteigerung gewinnen. So verzeichnet DHL eine um 25 % schnellere Warenentnahme und Coca Cola eine 99,99 % Genauigkeit seit Einführung der Smart Glasses.

Sie wollen mehr über die Vorteile von Smart Glasses in der Logistik erfahren? Rufen Sie uns gerne an.

Smart Glasses - ein wichtiger Baustein für die digitale Transformation Ihres Unternehmes

Smart Glasses vernetzen Mensch, Umwelt und Maschine und erlauben dadurch effizientere Arbeitsprozesse. Mit zunehmender Vernetzung aller Geräte im Internet of things werden daher auch die Einsatzmöglichkeiten für Datenbrillen immer umfangreicher. Für viele Unternehmen lohnt es sich bereits heute, AR Brillen zu nutzen, um Prozesse in Produktion, Logisitik, Ausbildung und Kundenerfahrung zu verbessern. Bei ALEGER bieten wir Ihnen ein breites Sortiment an Datenbrillen aller relevanten Hersteller und beraten Sie gerne zu den besten Lösungen für Ihren individuellen Use Case.

More About AR Solutions